June 28, 2011
Information we collect and how it is shared
The Google +1 button is a way for you to share information publicly with the world. The Google +1 button helps you and others receive personalized content from Google and our partners. The fact that you +1’d something will be recorded by Google, along with information about the page you were viewing when you clicked on the +1 button. Your +1’s may appear to others as an annotation with your profile name and photo in Google services (such as in search results or on your Google Profile) or elsewhere on websites and ads on the Internet.
We will record information about your +1 activity in order to provide you and other users with a better experience on Google services.
In order to use the Google +1 button, you need to have a public Google Profile visible to the world, which at a minimum includes the name you chose for the profile. That name will be used across Google services and in some cases it may replace another name you’ve used when sharing content under your Google Account. We may display your Google Profile identity to people who have your email address or other identifying information.
Use of the collected information
We may share aggregate statistics related to users’ +1 activity with the public, our users, and partners, such as publishers, advertisers, or connected sites. For example, we may tell a publisher that “10% of the people who +1’d this page are in Tacoma, Washington.”
You may view the list of items you have +1’d on the +1 tab on your Profile. You can remove individual items from that list.
You may opt out of seeing +1 recommendations on third-party websites (including on ads on third-party sites) from people you know.
We will store data (such as your recent +1’s) locally in your browser. You may be able to access and clear this information in your browser settings.
Google adheres to the U.S. Safe Harbor privacy principles. For more information about the Safe Harbor framework or our registration, see the Department of Commerce’s website.